CELEBRATE! Student Choreographers: Meet Adam McGaw

Adam McGaw - The 85th Annual Spring Dance Concert

Adam McGaw – The 85th Annual Spring Dance Concert

To start, what is your name?

My name is Adam Nicholas McGaw

When did you begin your dance training?

I started in dance/gymnastics when I was 5 years old. I didn’t really become serious in my training until around the age of 13

When did you begin choreographing?

I’ve been choreographing as long as I have been dancing. I have always been interested in making things. I knew that I wanted to be a choreographer for a long time now. I’ve always known that I’ve wanted to choreograph but I haven’t always been sure that I’ve wanted to dance.

What inspired the creation of your piece?

Several things. For one, my 3 dancers are my biggest inspiration for the piece. The piece would not be what it is without them. I wanted to create something that harnessed that their talents and individuality. I was also inspired by a piece of poetry written by Sylvia Plath entitled “Fever 103 Degrees” which focuses on themes of destruction and purity, two contrasting natures.

How would you describe your movement style in 3 words?

This is a hard one…..Visceral, detailed, and honest.

What are your career goals beyond graduation (dance or other)?

I want my own company, my own show. I would love to dance in a company as well, but mostly I want to create.

What is your favorite style of dance?

Contemporary

Leave a Reply

