CELEBRATE! Student Choreographers: Meet Michelle Brock

Michelle - 85th Annual Spring Dance Concert

Michelle Brock – 85th Annual Spring Dance Concert

To start, what is your name?

Michelle Brock

When did you begin your dance training?

I began dancing when I was just two years old and have been training ever since. I began to train intensively and competitively around the age of 8 in a variety of styles and continued until I was a senior in high school. Another aspect of my training came from touring and assisting for Tremaine Dance Conventions, which I began at the age of 14 under the direction of Joe Tremaine. I have studied under a number of different choreographers who have all influenced me to become the dancer that I am today.

When did you begin choreographing?

I didn’t start creating full works until I came to WSU, but growing up I always took an interest in creating dances for my school talent shows and other random, small projects. It really wasn’t until I took Choreography 1 at Wayne State that fully decided that I absolutely loved to choreograph.

What inspired the creation of your piece?

Striving for clarity to understand the world we are living in today, my latest work derives from the need to fulfill human connection.

How would you describe your movement style in 3 words?

Athletic, full‐bodied, and social.

What are your career goals beyond graduation (dance or other)?

Upon graduation, I plan on moving to New York in hopes of continuing my dream of dancing and choreographing in the professional realm.

What is your favorite style of dance?

My preferred choice of movement would be in the modern genre; however, I always love a good jazz or hip hop class to let loose and live a little every once in a while.

Is there anything else you would like to add?

Dance has always been my vehicle of expression that has allowed my inner most thoughts to transform into the consciousness of the physical body. I dance to make sense of the world I live in and to make sense of the people I surround myself with. Informed by my training as an athlete growing up, my movement is full bodied and carves through the entirety of the dance space; establishing design and architecture throughout. As a choreographer, I am interested in interpreting social issues through the use of visual technologies, audio, and physical stimulation. My aims are to consciously provoke and stimulate thought that will leave the audience questioning and hoping for social change.

Leave a Reply

